In Camera

In Camera May 2010 #3 from Photographers Sheffield on Vimeo.

Photography as Slideshow

I don’t know how to make these appear on screen more easily, but here are the links.  Below is an edited version of what I said in a previous post about writing this:

Yesterday, I made a start at actually trying to write something, a poem drawn from a photographic slideshow exhibited by James Dodd.  … The order of the slideshow was put together by James to create a sense of narrative, although that narrative is more modernist than Hollywood!

I started at a random point and got on with it.  What came out isn’t really a representation of what is on offer by looking at the slideshow, it is more a representation of what my eye selected to see in the moments of looking at the screen before looking at the page.  Sometimes images ran into one, other times only fragments of an image could be caught and recorded in what ever sense I took from it.  For example, some dead pigs hanging from hooks, I assume, bled into an image of the ocean; an eccentric-looking Einstien figure shot in hard light [is] described as ghost-like, not a very original thought for me to have, but the only one I could articulate before the image was gone.

On the page, I’ve tried to recreate the sense of movement between images.  No idea if this has worked …  Each image is positioned to reflect its relationship to the images that precede and succeed it.

Overall, I’ve swayed between thinking this is utter rubbish, not a poem, not new, just description splashed around the page to hide its failure – and actually, it’s not just description of an art object, it’s description of my experience of the art object, and so would be an entirely different poem if I were to repeat the process …

About this entry