In the beginning …

So, this is the first day of my residency with Bank Street Arts.  My project is about ekphrasis, and how I can explore ekphrastic writing in new and interesting ways.  I thought this could be an opportunity to make myself write without the academic framework I’m used to.  This is both fairly frightening, and potentially liberating, as my writing can take the risk of not being much good, if it’s in the interests of trying something new.

So, ekphrasis has been around forever.  Why on earth do I think I can do something original with it?  Hopefully, this blog will be about breaking down common preconceptions that surround ekphrastic writing.  I guess that means I’m starting out with all the usual barriers in place, the drive to write descriptively, to use narrative based on an image, or an associated history attached to the image.  As the residency gets going, I’m going to have to challenge and push past these barriers, if something interesting is to come out of the next 12 months.  I’m not saying that I know how to do this, only that I’m going to try.

The next question, or maybe the first question, is why do this.  Well, to see if it can be done … to see if there’s any value in doing this … to play around with my own writing, so that I might improve in more general ways, as a writer, as a person … Okay, maybe I won’t be a better person at the end of this …

About this entry